Aurora Mayor Richard Irvin

Aurora Mayor Richard Irvin. (City of Aurora photo)

Aurora Mayor Richard Irvin joined more than 200 bipartisan mayors from across the nation signing on to a letter from The United States Conference of Mayors urging immediate action from the federal government on gun safety legislation.

This comes after Irvin expressed his condolences on Monday night at the city's weekly press briefing for the lives lost in two mass shootings that took place in El Paso, Texas and Dayton, Ohio.

Irvin additionally stated that the city has reached out to the mayors of El Paso and Dayton to offer condolences.

The United States Conference of Mayors is urging the nation’s leaders to work with Congress, the Administration, and others to work to end gun violence.

Illinois mayors who signed the letter include Aurora Mayor Richard C. Irvin, Chicago Mayor Lori E. Lightfoot, Champaign Mayor Deborah Frank Feinen, Dolton Mayor Riley H. Rogers, Evanston Mayor Stephen H. Hagerty, Gurnee Mayor Kristina Kovarik, Highland Park Mayor Nancy Rodkin Rotering, Normal Mayor Chris Koos, Oak Park Mayor Anan Abu-Taleb and Urbana Mayor Diane W. Marlin.