(WCSJ photo)

In addition to local races, candidate filings ahead of Monday's deadline for the 2020 election were made in state and congressional races for districts that cover portions of Kendall County.

Filing records show several primary filings for a pair of congressional races in Kendall County districts.

In the 14th Congressional District, incumbent Democrat Lauren Underwood of Naperville filed and is uncontested in the primary. A Republican primary will bring a contested general election. Filing were, former Kendall GOP Chair Jim Marter of Oswego, Sen. Jim Oberweis of Sugar Grove, Sen. Sue Rezin of Morris, Catalina Lauf of Woodstock, Ted Gradel of Naperville, Jerry Evans of Warrenville and Anthony Catella of St. Charles. Former candidate Danny Malouf of Crystal Lake ended his bid.

Primaries will occur in the 11th Congressional District. Incumbent Democrat Bill Foster of Naperville will face a Democratic challenger, Rachel Ventura of Joliet. Rick Laib of Joliet, and Krishna Bansal of Naperville are running as Republicans.

While not in Kendall County, 16th District Republican Congressman Adam Kinzinger, who covers large portions of the WSPY listening area, filed for re-election. Two Democrats are also seeing the seat, LaSalle Co. Democratic Chair Dani Brzozowski of LaSalle and Benjamin Baer of Coal City.

Other local races include state seats.

There is no primary race in the 97th House District, currently held by incumbent Republican Mark Batinick of Plainfield who is seeking re-election. He will have a general election opponent as Harry Benton of Plainfield who is running as a Democrat. Former Oswego Trustee Ryan Kauffman had previously announced a bid but is instead running for Kendall County Circuit Clerk.

House seats held by Republican Rep. Keith Wheeler of Oswego, Democrat Rep. Stephanie Kifowit of Oswego, and Republican Rep. David Welter of Morris will not have opposition. All three incumbents are seeking re-election.

In the 25th Senate District, currently held by Sen. Oberweis, Rep. Karina Villa of West Chicago is seeking the seat as a Democrat.

Beth Goncher of Aurora and Jeanette Ward of West Chicago are running as Republicans in a primary battle.

Finally, the 49th Senate District will have a new senator as Democratic Sen. Jennifer Bertino-Tarrant is not seeking re-election in lieu of a campaign to become the Will County Executive.

Three Democrats, Larry Hug of Joliet, Michael Crowner of Bolingbrook and Meg Loughran Cappel of Shorewood are running in a primary.

Thomas McCullagh of Shorewood is seeking the seat as a Republican. Numerous individuals filed as precinct committeepersons, as well.

The filing that closed on Monday is for Democratic and Republican parties. New political parties and those who file as Independents file June 15th through June 22, 2020.