vote 1

(Courtesy of Photospin)

Additional candidates have filed to hold seats in Kendall County offices, as the regular filing deadline came to a close on Monday.

Kendall County Clerk and Recorder Debbie Gillette provided filing information which indicates more candidates are seeking election in county board districts and for circuit clerk.

For Kendall County Board, former Oswego trustee Joe West has filed for election in District 2 as a Republican. With his filing, eight candidates have now turned in petitions for the district. There are three seats open in District 2.  

As WSPY previously reported, former board member Dan Koukol of Oswego, incumbent Tony Giles of Oswego, incumbent Matt Kellogg of Yorkville and Gabriella Shanahan of Joliet, all Republicans, previously filed.

Mary Murray of Oswego, Karen Novy of Oswego, and incumbent Elizabeth Flowers of Montgomery filed as Democrats.

In Kendall County Board District 1, four candidates have filed, two for each major party. On the Republican ticket, filing were Brian DeBolt of Plano and incumbent Scott Gengler of Yorkville, who was appointed to fill the remainder of John Purcell's term when Purcell won election as Mayor of Yorkville.

Incumbent Audra Hendrix of Yorkville and Anthony Magliari of Newark filed on the Democratic ticket in District 1. Two seats are up for grabs in the November 2020 election, however, current District 1 board member Matthew Prochaska of Bristol is running in the Republican primary for circuit clerk. If Prochaska were to win the primary and the general election, a vacancy would open for appointment, as his county board term runs until 2022.

As mentioned, the position of Kendall County Circuit Clerk will have a Republican primary in March. Michelle Halbesma of Yorkville, Prochaska, and Emily Carlson of Yorkville all filed as Republicans.

On the Democratic ticket, Ryan Kauffman of Oswego is running for circuit clerk and has filed, creating a contested general election.

Republican incumbents, Coroner Jacquie Purcell and State's Attorney Eric Weis will be uncontested.

The filing that closed on Monday is for Democratic and Republican parties. New political parties and those who file as Independents file June 15th through June 22, 2020.