sheriffs award.jpg

(Pictured left to right): Sgt. Mark Bunting, Deputy Frank Pavlik, and Detective Todd Brautigam. Kendall County Sheriff's Office photo.

The Kendall County Sheriff's Office has been named the 2019/2020 winners of the Traffic Safety Challenge. The office won first place in its size category of 50-100 sworn officers.

The traffic safety challenge is a friendly competition between law enforcement meant to encourage positive traffic safety programs and education. It is put on each year by the Illinois Association of Chiefs of Police Traffic Committee and the Illinois Department of Transportation.

Police agencies are evaluated for enforcement initiatives, traffic safety programs, and creativity in teaching people about traffic safety. Ultimately, the goal of the program is to keep roads safe, reducing injuries, and saving lives.

The Sheriff's Office received a plaque, A new traffic radar device, and new portable breath test device.