Illinois Student Assistance Commission

Illinois Student Assistance Commission (ISAC logo)

Students from several area schools were recognized Tuesday, amid the annual announcement of The Illinois Student Assistance Commission's 2020-21 Illinois State Scholars.

According to a statement from ISAC, more than 17,577 high school students from 726 schools across the state were recognized for outstanding academic achievement.

Locally, high school seniors were listed from: Oswego, Oswego East, Plano, Yorkville and Newark High Schools. Additionally listed were students from: Sandwich, Somonauk, Hinckley-Big Rock, Indian Creek, Serena, Earlville, and Kaneland, among several other high schools in the region.

Officials say Illinois State Scholars, who rank in approximately the top 10% of graduates from Illinois high schools, are selected annually based on their ACT and SAT exams and sixth semester class rank.

The program announces honorees based on the year they would begin any postsecondary education.

Each Illinois State Scholar receives a congratulatory letter from ISAC, a Certificate of Achievement and statewide recognition in traditional and social media outlets.

You can view more on the recognition and view a list of all of the students named as Illinois State Scholars, below.