Sugar Grove Village Board

Pictured are Sugar Grove Village Board members: (Back Row, L-R:)  President Sean Michels, Trustee Ryan Walter, Trustee Rick Montalto and Trustee Ted Koch. (Front Row L-R:) Trustee Heidi Lendi, Trustee Jen Konen and Trustee Sean Herron. (Photo provided)

In a tight vote, Sugar Grove trustees voted in favor of an ordinance to prohibit cannabis sale and production facilities from opening in the village.

The vote, at the village's board meeting on Tuesday night was 4-3, with Village President Sean Michels casting a vote.

Michels and trustees Ryan Walter, Rick Montalto, and Ted Koch voted in favor of prohibition while trustees Heidi Lendi, Jen Konen, and Sean Herron cast votes against approving a prohibition.

The Sugar Grove Village Board debated the topic at length with many differing viewpoints among trustees at meetings.

Trustee Montalto, who voted for prohibition on Tuesday, spoke about why he felt the village should not allow sales at the board's October 15th meeting.

Trustee Konen, who voted against prohibition on Tuesday, also spoke at the October meeting.

With the approval, the ordinance prohibits retail dispensing organizations, cultivation centers, infuser organizations, processing organizations, and transportation organizations.

The ordinance additionally states, "allowing the operation of cannabis business establishments would present adverse impacts upon the health, safety and welfare of the residents, and additional costs, burdens and impacts upon law enforcement and regulatory operations of the village."

Village President Sean Michels told WSPY on Wednesday that the village will re-evaluate annually to see how many communities are getting permits and if the number of permits available are expanded.