The Yorkville City Council held a public hearing on the boundary line agreement with Plano and approved a land acquisition for Mill Rd. at their meeting on Tuesday night.

No citizens made comment during the hearing for the agreement, which was held as a part of the process that both communities are going through to adopt certain ordinances and the updated agreement itself.

As WSPY previously reported, Yorkville and Plano had a boundary line agreement that expired in Jun. 2019. The new agreement, once approved, would expire in 2039.

Alderman Chris Funkhouser had this recommendation.

The boundary basically runs north/south beginning on the east side of Ashe Rd. continuing down along Eldamain Rd. and terminating at Rt. 71 or Stagecoach Rd.

Yorkville Community Development Director Barksdale-Noble told WSPY in September that the approximately nine-mile boundary has primarily farm land with some scattered residential homes on both the Plano and Yorkville sides of the boundary that won't change.

The Menards Distribution Center is on the Plano side and several large parcels on the Yorkville side are zoned for industrial/manufacturing uses.

Yorkville has boundary agreements with Montgomery, Oswego, Plano, Plainfield and Sugar Grove. Other jurisdictions that could be discussed in the future that near Yorkville are Joliet, Lisbon, Millbrook and Plattville.

In other city council news, the council unanimously approved an agreement with a land owner regarding the acquisition of right-of-way at Mill Rd. Alderman Joe Plocher was absent from the meeting.

The acquisition is the last right-of-way needed for the realignment of the road, following the recent resurfacing. It will be sold for a price of $10,000.

Alderman Joel Frieders asked about the possibility of a roundabout, and had this exchange with City Administrator Bart Olson.

The resurfacing of the road was a short term fix to buy a few years while more study with Kendall County is done about traffic light and roundabout possibilities at Galena, Kennedy and Mill Roads.

The council also took time to honor Patrol Sgt. Andrew Jeleniewski, Detective Sgt. Patrick McMahon and Dep. Chief Ray Mikolasek for reaching 15 years served with the Yorkville Police Department.