OEHS Journalism

On Saturday, February 22, 2020, the Southwest Prairie Conference (SPC) held its inaugural Journalism competition. The Oswego East Journalism team brought home first place with a total score of 84 points, Minooka came in second with 68 points and Plainfield Central placed third with 53 points. Oswego High School had five competitors take part in the competition with all five placing in their respective categories! A total of ten (10) teams from the SPC competed: Joliet Central, Joliet West, Minooka, Oswego, Oswego East, Plainfield Central, Plainfield East, Plainfield North, Plainfield South and Yorkville.

Students participated in on-demand writing, photography, theme development, and design competitions in two (2) one and a half hour blocks, with each school being allowed to enter two competitors per category. Each competition was judged using the IHSA Journalism rubric. Students received feedback on their entries. The SPC Conference Journalism Competition serves as an important warm-up round prior to the students/teams competing at the DeKalb Sectional on April 4 at Northern Illinois University. Unlike conference, however, teams are only permitted to enter one competitor per category at the Sectional competition.

Individual awards were won by the following students from Oswego East:

Advertising: Emma Guarni (5th); Copy Editing: Vivian La (3rd); Editorial Cartooning: Jayna Dias (4th); Editorial Writing: Ashlyn Pearson (2nd), Vivian La (5th); Feature Writing: Aryav Bothra (2nd), Namratha Prasad (6th); Headline Writing: Elizabeth Dyer (2nd), Troi Howell (3rd); Infographics: Michaela Banal (1st), Leah Finnin (4th); News Writing: Lucy Weiher (3rd); Review Writing: Aryav Bothra (1st); Sports Writing: Paul Blaso (3rd); Video News: Team of Reegan Johnson, Rahi Patel, Alex Prince (2nd); Yearbook Caption Writing: Isabella Mendoza (5th), Teddy Wynard (6th); Yearbook Copy Writing: Isabella Mendoza (1st), Teddy Wyndard (3rd); Yearbook Double Page Spread Layout Design: Leah Finnin (3rd), Cailee Zukauskas; Yearbook Theme Development: Team of Carson Bierman and Kylie Eggert (2nd). Congratulations to the following students who also competed: Mallory Collins, Maria Barbosa, Gabby Haase, Emily Mauro, and Ashita Wagh.

Congratulations to the following students from Oswego High School for placing in your respective categories: Copyediting: Alex Mielcarz (2nd), Jamani Reed (5th); Review Writing: Andrew Provost (3rd); Feature Writing: Annabelle Rivera (1st); News Writing: Lizzy Sorensen (1st), Annabelle Rivera (2nd); Sports Writing: Lizzy Sorensen (1st)

Congratulations to all of these talented writers from both Oswego East and Oswego High School!