Pearl Harbor

Everett "Jim" Schlegel, 100, of Elgin, left, lone area survivor of the Pearl Harbor attack on Dec. 7, 1941, received a standing ovation when he was introduced Monday, Dec., 9, at a 50th annual memorial luncheon in Aurora. Seated right is Navy vet Dick Miller of Aurora. (Al Benson photo)

A Pearl Harbor attack survivor from Elgin was among World War II veterans saluted at the 50th annual Pearl Harbor memorial luncheon Monday, Dec. 9.

Everett "Jim" Schlegel, 100, of Elgin received a standing ovation when he was introduced

by Col. (ret.) Rick Todas, Aurora Navy League president. Schlegel, an Army veteran, was stationed at Schofield battacks at Pearl Harbor when the Japanese attacked. Accompanying Schlegel was his daughter, Beverly Capigo of Elgin.

Aurora Navy League Council 237 sponsored the memorial at Gaslite Manor Banquets in Aurora. Included was the 33rd annual Ted Brattin Civic Youth awards to 11 area high school students chosen by school officials.

Keynote speaker was Navy Capt. Raymond C Leung, commander, Naval Station Great Lakes since 2013. Before delivering his prepared remarks, Leung, a Hong Kong native, offered advice to Brattin Award winners. He said, "Work hard and things will come to you."

Linda Kemp, Aurora Rotary Club president, introduced Brattin Award winners. The 2019 class includes Aderinsola Akeju, Mooseheart High School, Josephine Alm, Aurora Central Catholic; Victor G. Esparza, West Aurora; Timothy Gehler, East Aurora; Halle Gensler, Kaneland; Henry King, Marmion Academy; Emily Mason, Naperville Central; Matthew Megazzini, Yorkville High; Mary Ann Powers, Rosary; Natalie Sanchez, Illinois Mathematics and Science Academy; and Brian Zheng, Naperville North.

Brattin, a late Aurora businessman and Marine veteran, helped found the Aurora Navy League. His namesake award honors youth for civic involvement, leadership and community service.

Akeju played the national anthem to open the event and the "Navy Hymn" on saxophone to conclude the program.

World War II veterans were recognized during the memorial and posed for a group photo after the event.

Aurora Navy League sponsors Aurora Sea Cadets Corps, East Aurora High School and Mooseheart NJROTC units and West Aurora High AFROTC. Call (630) 896-4941 for more information.