Indian Creek Wolves 250

Well the Indian Creek Timberwolves boys basketball team were the number 1 seed so when they won was anyone surprised, probably not! They were tested early in their first game as they led HBR by just 3 points after the first quarter 16-13 and in the championship game they were tied with Newark 16-16 in the second quarter.  After that in each of those games and against LaMoille-Ohio in the semi-finals they just kept increasing their leads. 

Indian Creek defeated HBR 76-36, LaMoille-Ohio 78-38 and Newark 62-33.  Indian Creek starters senior Cooper Larsen along side juniors Michael Lampson, Cameron Russell, Brennen McNally and Drew Gaston each had big moments in all three of the wins for the Timberwolves.  Key players coming off the bench were pivotal as well as senior Tyler Swanson and junior Davis Stryker come in and do a nice job.  All the Timberwolves players got in each game and have helped this team now have a 24-0 record.

Head Coach Joe Piekarz and I talked after the title game and talked about all the different ways this team is able to go out and play at such a strong level.  They can beat you with outstanding shooting from both behind the 3 points line or inside in the paint.  There defense is a big time strength and often turns into instant offense as  Russell and Gaston turn steals into coast to coast layups.  Congratulations to the Timberwolves on a great tournament and championship.

Host Somonauk won the third place game with a 63-56 win over LaMoille-Ohio and the consolation winner was Earlville as they got by HBR 62-48.  Thank you to everyone at Somonauk High School for hosting a great tournament.  Also a thank you to the IBCA for presenting the Little 10 with an award before the championship game.  Little 10 Secretary Greg Burks did a great job as well announcing court side for each game.